Tags

, , ,

 

 

Blog Challenges: 30 Days About Me from a Daily Dose of Toni

Today’s topic: Something or Someone That Has Impacted Your Life….

When I was a young girl, my Great Grandmother and I got to spend a lot of time together.  My grandparents had a hobby farm and she lived with them.  My father raised beef and pork on their farm.  It was a wonderful exciting childhood.  I had three horses, dogs, and cats.  I explored the acres of the farm and learned something new about life every day. My Great Grandmother tended her to garden and fruit tree orchard and taught me how to care for the plants.  She taught me that women can be
both soft and strong.  I share my birthday with her and I miss her terribly. She taught me how to do things on that farm that my “city” friends couldn’t stomach.  She taught me about survival, how to prepare food from life to the table, as she called it.
One of my favorite memories is picking blackberries with her, bringing them inside and boiling them into Comstock and baking cobblers and canning jam. My Great Grandmother passed just before my 19th birthday.  She is missed.

In my twenties, I am a mother of three young children.  Each of them has impacted my life in several ways. Both positively and negatively, I have learned to be patient  and resilient.

I haven’t had many friends; in fact, I can count on one hand the people that I would consider friends.  Sure I know lots of people but too me a friend is someone who cares for you through it all ups and downs, laughter and tears, angry words and loving words, someone who doesn’t judge.

In the seasons of life we ourselves change.  My best friend has had the most influence, the biggest impact in my life.  He has been on a wild roller-coaster.  In the face of darkness, he still manages to smile, to see the end of the tunnel, plan the next step, and execute with success.  He has taught me to be driven.

This challenge topic has given me a chance to reflect, to look in the mirror to see the truth.  That recently I’ve been feeling sorry for myself, overly concerned with things I cannot control, worrying about controlling the futures of others. My Great Grandmother told me to be kind, to be still, and to listen.  My best friend
told me to pay attention, see beyond, to listen.  I haven’t been listening.  I haven’t been still.  I’ve put my hands in front of my face so I couldn’t see beyond.

We are coming up on harvest season time to prepare the garden winter its dormant season.  It’s time for reflection.

_________________________________

Michele Forto is about to undertake a new adventure.  Follow me on Facebook, Twitter  and grab my blog.

