Tags

, ,

Make A Prediction About Life In 2021…

Growing up a child of the 70’s and 80’s with fantastic movies like Star Wars and music bands like KISS, means that anything can happen in the future.  We had books like George Orwell’s 1984 that predicted a warped vision of the future – I survived! Ironically, “Big Brother IS still watching you”.

I graduated from high school in 1990 and we had to write an essay about this very topic only the prediction year was 2000 – I survived the Millennium too!  My prediction then was that I would be spending New Years’ Eve 1999 partying as instructed by Prince and with my best friend.  Well at the time I wrote the essay my best friend then was not my best friend on the Millennium’s opening day.

I predict the doomsday 12-21-12 that was predicted centuries ago, will come and go just like the predicted events I listed above.  Humans have an uncanny ability to adapt to their surroundings and situations. We help create the world we live in and how it reacts.

In order to predict life in 2021, I would look to the movies and books being written today, oddly enough there are fantastic strives in technology that we get glimpses of in movies and books.

In my lifetime, we have seen black and white tubular televisions change to plasma screens with 3D technology, a rotary corded dial phone be able to be carried in our pockets and include a computer that used to fill a space of 1600 square feet and require its own cooling system, we have seen cars go from large-bulky gas hogging machines to tiny smartcars and even cars that require no gasoline at all.  I missed the first flight to the moon, but I do remember the Challenger Space Shuttle blowing up with the first civilian teacher inside (I was in 7th grade science, bet you remember where you were).

My prediction for 2021, there will no longer be suburbs, superpower nations will combine, people will live in compact homes much like on the movie the 5th Element, every household will have an iRobot, mass transit will be the choice of traveling, and children will never know what it’s like to go outside.

The national parks will be the only places you can see wildlife, and natural resources.  The small family farmer will not exist, only corporate farming.  Mining on Mars will be in its infancy and exploration of our oceans will be all consuming to locate precious resources to fuel our consumption for better technology and power.

I will 49 years old in 2021, my youngest child will be 24, I will most likely have grandchildren by then and I am only hopeful that I’ll be able to teach them about the century I was born in and the century they were born in.  It’s a unique time.  Teach the past to the future so the present may prosper.

Michele Forto is the lead trainer for Denver Dog Works and the co-host for Dog Works Radio Show.

 

